Rep. Scott Tells Military Academy Appointments

Congressman David Scott (D-GA) hosted a special ceremony Feb. 4 to honor 23 student nominees for appointment to the nation’s esteemed military academies.

Cobb County student honorees include:

Aaron Churchill – U.S. Military Academy, Mableton resident, Campbell High School

Keith Cormier – U.S. Military Academy, Smyrna, Duluth High School

Taneisha Jones – U.S. Air Force Academy, Marietta resident, South Cobb High School

Michael Richard, Jr. – U.S. Naval Academy, Mableton resident, Campbell High School

Jordan Robertson – U.S. Military Academy, Marietta, 2011 Graduate of Osborne High School

Luke Voss – U.S. Naval Academy, Mableton resident, Holy Spirit Prep School

The ceremony featured the Chapel Hill High School Color Guard and guest speakers from the U.S. Air Force and Naval Academies.  This year’s students will receive nominations to attend the U.S. Naval, Military (West Point), Air Force, and Merchant Marine academies.

From the February 2012 issue of The Bright Side, Cobb County Georgia’s Newspaper covering Smyrna, Vinings, Mableton and Austell, GA.